Google Photos Blog - News, Tips and Tricks from the Picasa team

Stay in sync

Monday, September 29, 2008 1:49 PM

Posted by Ella To, Test Engineer

One downside to revisiting old photos on your PC and editing them is that you have to remember to re-upload those photos to the web in order for your changes to be reflected online. Well... that used to be the case. With the new Sync functionality in Picasa 3 (beta), you can now sidestep that chore completely.

Picasa 3 allows you to effortlessly keep photos and videos you've uploaded up-to-date. With a click of a button, you can enable syncing of any album. This means that whenever you make a change to a photo or video in Picasa (that includes edits, captions, tags and geotags) your online copy of the album will be seamlessly updated as soon as you log in. If there are some photos that you'd rather not share, you can always suppress those photos from appearing in your album.

And here's a power tip that can really speed things up: the sync feature also allows you to sync starred photos only -- so if you use stars to single out the "cream of the crop" in your photo collection, this can make sharing your very best shots easy. Use the drop-down menu next to the 'Sync to Web' and 'Share' buttons to enable starred-photos-only syncing, or specify other sync preferences, such as upload resolution, etc.